top of page

Home made walnut milk

I am so excited to share this with you guys... I have been thinking about making my own nut milk for so long now but could never find that damn cheese cloth in stores. I probably could have just ordered it on line but I think I was also dreading the process to be honest. To my surprise, this was super quick! Maybe a little messy but quick! 

All you need to make your very own walnut milk is.... walnuts, a cheese cloth, water and a blender! 

You could do this with any type of nut but I had lots of walnuts and chose to use them! 

Soak nuts in water overnight. 

Drain water and add nuts to the blender

Add new water( used about a cup of walnuts so I added 2 cups of water)

Blend! You will see that it instantly turns white- I thought that was the coolest thing! 

Here is the tricky/messy part... Take the cheese cloth and put it over a bowl. Then pour the milk over the cheese cloth. Do this very slowly . The “pulp” will stay on the top and the liquid will fall through to the bowl. Squeeze out the remaining milk before adding more to the cloth.

After you are done , put the milk in the fridge. Remember that this is not filled with preservatives so it might only last a week or 2.

I’m going to add this to my daily smoothie but you can also use this for oatmeal/cereal, baking, etc 

bottom of page