top of page

Kale Soup

Growing up in a Portuguese household, I have tried all different types of Kale Soup. This might sound like a healthy dish but lots of times it is not. When I got old enough to cook for my own and educated myself on healthy eating, I fell in love with making healthier versions of the meals that I had been eating up until that point. I guess that's how this blog formed years later :)

Kale Soup was one of the first recipes I tried and it has taken many years to perfect even though it was always pretty good if I do say so myself. This one though, I have to share with you!

Boil about 3 cups of water in a big pot. Cook 1 cup of white beans. Raw beans are the healthier choice but this does take time as you would need to soak in water for several hours before hand. If you rather buy canned I would look for organic and no salt added. Always look at those ingredients! Once the white beans are ready, grab a hand blender and blend blend blend. This gives the soup a nice thick consistency without having to add pasta or anything like that. Then add the kale and spices. I used lots and lots of garlic, sea salt to taste, pinch of black pepper and Mrs. Dash. Add in one cup of red beans(do not blend these for a chunkier soup). Have chicken cooked on the side and ready to just add to your pot of ingredients. Then let everything sit together over low heat for at least ten minutes with the lid on the pot.

Enjoy! 

bottom of page